Where to begin?

Helen Mirren

I guess I’ll start with the name. I’ve been wanting to write a blog for a long time but wasn’t really sure what avenue to take or a name. Mostly because when it comes to talking about myself, my brain’s vast land of scatteredness & random thoughts.  Oh btw – you’ll read lots of words that will probably make your “spellcheck,” explode because they don’t exist in the English Language – go with it.  As for grammar, I usually skipped that class, mostly because I couldn’t deal with my, “oversexed, hippie English teacher that forgot to wash that grey outta her hair.” So I say, “Let the periods, comma’s & paragraphs fall where they may!”

Anyway, where was I? Oh – the name (see scatteredness)!  Thinking, thinking, thinking – no sleep (I’m a total insomniac), then I woke-up one morning and was like, “God, I feel like somebody slipped me a Mickey…(then looking at myself in the mirror) and I woke up middle-aged!” How the hell did that happen? I looked around for my husband & kids, like a bear looking for her cubs. Then I remembered – I forgot to have them! Where’s my fancy car? McMansion in the suburbs? Aren’t I suppose be taking the kids to soccer practice. Crap – that’s right – forgot to have them!

Warning: This Blog will be completely random! 

You’ll hear about pop culture, past relationships (majority vastly funny), random thoughts & the everyday mundane. Basically it’s a forum to examine where I’ve been, where I’m at, where I’m going & mostly not to forget. That happen’s with age ya know.

My thoughts? Hmmm, the best is yet to come. I remember seeing an interview with Helen Mirren talking about seeing a hand reader & he said,'”You will be successful in life, but you will see your greatest success later, after the age of forty-five.” And I thought, “Christ – that’s me.” I think I was somewhere in my mid to late 30’s.

Sure as shit – that looks like what’s happening. My own astrologer (that’s right – I got one of those!) told me a few years ago, “Your life will be very different by the time your 45. You’ll have the things you want.” At which my reply was, “Forty-fucking Five! (not kidding – you can hear it on the tape) You gotta be fricken kidding me!”

So as that age quickly approaches (I’ve got another year & a half),we’ll see if my astrologer was right. Which way will I turn – left or right? Only time will tell…btw – that bitch better be right 😉

Kate

MargaretNapier / Free Photos

Photo Dame Helen Mirren opening introduction and welcome to Hollywood Bowl 2011

Quote from Helen Mirren’s book, “In the Frame: My Life in Words & Pictures” – link above.

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

