Farewell my friend…

Last night a beloved dear friend of all middle-agers who grew up in the Pacific Northwest, passed away. Julius Pierpont Patches aka J.P Patches (Chris Wedes) was an important figure in my childhood. Every morning I remember getting up at the crack of dawn to see what J.P. & his friends were up to in the city dump. Yes, that was where he lived & resided as the, “Mayor of the City Dump.”

The details are a bit sketchy as I go back to my 5 year old mind. All I remember is this: he lived in a shack, had a sidekick/girlfriend named Gertrude (who was clearly a dude -played by Bob Newman) & he made me laugh & smile. The show was mainly unscripted & there was A LOT of laughing & shenanigans going on.  Now – I didn’t like clowns. They freaked me out long before that demonic doll on Poltergeist but J.P. was different. Kind & giving, he made you want to hang-out at the dump. I even remember thinking maybe I’d get a glimpse of him if I went with my dad there! Alas, that never happened but I kept on wishing one of these days I’m going to catch that clown in his natural habitat.

“The J.P. Patches Show,” ran from 1958 to 1981. By the time I was 8 or 9 – J.P was abandoned for stuff like, “Star Blazers,” whose theme song I can still sing this day. My love for J.P & his cross-dressing girlfriend never faltered. It was just time to move from the city dump to Japanese anime & having crushes on cartoon characters.

So to you my old friend, Julius Pierpont Patches, may you rest in peace in that beautiful City Dump in the sky…

Kate

(photo Seattle P.I.)

 

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

