All Hail the “Hipster!”

Detention

Yesterday mark a much anticipated day for me…the release of one of my favorite movies of 2011 on DVD & Blu-ray – “Detention.” I first saw this film at SIFF (Seattle International Film Festival) & I loved it from the get go. Especially when within the first 30 seconds, one of its main characters makes reference to the early century band – Hoobastank (just saying that name cracks me up!).

Joseph Kahn does an excellent job of bringing to you all your favorite movies of the past & giving you a “mash-up,” like no other. It’s like Donnie Darko, meets the Fly, meets, Freaky Friday, meets, Scream meets…oh – there’s so to many to list! Clever & brilliant is all I can say.  It’s one of those movies that you can watch again and again, and you’ll pick something new up each time. All while giving praise to hipsters & lovers of the 90’s everywhere.

Rather than me going into all the reasons I love this film so much, I’ll let you explore the “world wide web,” of reviews.  If you’re one of those people that love teen movies (as I always will – especially when I’m in the “old folks home”), cleverness & irony – you’ll love this film.  If you don’t and are always ranting about, “those damn kids!” – then there’s a, “Rascal Mobility Scooter,” waiting for you in the parking lot…

Kate

Image

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

