I love it when you call me “Sweetheart!”

I love it when people call me sweetheart…

Old ladies, gay men, parents – you name it – I love it! Mostly because it’s the people that say that, really mean it. There’s a sweet demeanor about them. Occasionally, you’ll get that goofy 19 year old waitress that calls you that before you she takes your “greasy spoon order,” – that feels a bit weird. Or that creepy old man that “sweetheart,” has an alternate meaning, but the majority of the time, it’s pretty lovely.

Being acknowledged, by “Sweetheart or Dear,” can change a person’s day in an instant. It can take all your cares away from what can be a fast paced & sometimes chaotic life. I was remind of that today when I held the door open for an elderly woman who, as she walked past me, placed her hand on my arm and said, “Thank you sweetheart.” Just awesome.

And hey, if you can’t get your “real” sweetheart to call you that – random stranger’s endearments are ALWAYS very welcome…

Kate

Image

( photo: thecolly.tumblr.com) 

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

