In the Company of Misery – AKA What did you do on your Tuesday Night?

I’ve done a really good job of weeding out the “drama,” in my life. i.e. Getting rid of people that just love to live in their own misery. There’s a few “hanger on’s,” but I’m very conscious of eliminating myself from whatever conversation or bitchfest they’ve got going on. Basically I’m down to one couple, but because of who they are relative to me & I’m stuck with them…for now. 

 
…that was until tonight. 
 
Tonight I met for Happy Hour with a gal I know from my neighborhood. I’ve met her a few times at various parties & know her from the local cafe. It was one of those “we should meet for drinks,” kinda things & she actually took me up on the offer. Jeez, don’t you know that’s just something you say to be nice. Yesterday I got cornered & figured – why not. How bad can it be? 
 
People, if you’re in a shitty place – lock the doors, eat some Haggen Dass & wait it out. Believe me, you’ll be happy you did. Don’t go looking for new friends & definitely don’t DATE! I learned THAT lesson a long time ago when I was learning a new job, hated my boss and decided it was a good idea to go out on a blind date. No wonder he never called me back. 
 
Anyway, back to Happy Hour. You know how you go on a date & your date just talks about them self, never really asking questions about you or your life? Yeah, same thing just chicks involved. Ok – maybe she asked a few questions but 90% was talking about her ex, her financial situation & a string of – what did she say? – oh yeah, “bootie-calls.” 
 
It was pretty obvious she didn’t want a new friend or else it would have been more a 50/50 conversation. Sharing laughs & funny stories. Instead she wanted an audience. Someone to share in her drama while checking her iPhone for messages. 
 
When things suck, it’s hard to crawl out. I get that, I’ve BEEN THAT! But some people just love to be the martyr. 
 
As I get older I’m very conscious of keeping my “misery,” to a minimum. Not that you should be in a “happy place,” all the time. That’s just bullshit. But to know who your trusted friends are & who you can openly talk about your fears & concerns. When you need to shut-it & when you need to seek out real counselling…
 
…and when you need to quit being a savior. 
 
-Kate  
 
Image
 
 
(freedigitalphotos.net)
About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

