Persephone back from the Underworld…

I think it was Thursday that I started to see the problem. It’s hard to remember because when you’re having problems with the internet, minutes are like dog years times 1000. What was suppose to be my daily post (ok – it’s more like 3x’s a week at this point) was…odd looking. 

 
When I hit “see post,” all of sudden it was like a 1997 flashback. What’s wrong with my blog? Why does everything look so…basic. Why do I feel like I should be punching in a DOS command on my keyboard? I was not alone in my plight. I was quickly directed to forums of bloggers with similar issues and numerous attempt at others “helpful hints.” Unfortunately I don’t speak “HTML” so I there was a lot of “googling” being done on my part. After hours of “investigative reporting,” I had to throw in the towel. “Maybe it’ll be better in the morning.” 
 
…it wasn’t. Shit really? Ok – let’s try this again. More forums, more attempts, more clearing, more “investigative reporting.” No luck. It’s Saturday night – I gotta get out of this room. 
 
I instinctively knew it wasn’t my ISP, my cache or any of the numerous offerings from the Internet Gods (the people that actually know what they’re doing) on the forums. I thought to myself, “this is a glitch & we here in the forums, just happen to hit the jackpot lottery on this one.” 
 
“Damnit! Do I need to move my crap to Tumblr? All the “hip kids,” are over there. And it’s easy for an internet ding-a-ling like myself. All 78 people who’ve seen my blog may have an issue but that’s ok, they’ll find me.” 
 
No need. Like the first day of Spring my blog was back up & running…
 
– Kate 
 
P.S. To all they helpful people on all the forums, I’d like to say “many thanks!” You make me smarter by making me research issues rather than pushing a button to get an instant answer.  I wasn’t kidding when I said I think of you as, “Internet Gods.” 
 
Image
 
 
(www.freedigitalphotos.net)
About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

