My Control Tops are making me Nauseous!

Yesterday I had a total meltdown. My girlfriend’s, husband’s, 40th Birthday party was last night – a blowout bash at a local restaurant.  I finally found a dress that A – fit. B – was comfortable (despite having to wear control tops that make me nauseous) & C – Cute & didn’t make me look like a cow. 

 
What came next was the perfect storm. A mixture of PMS Hormones, feeling crappy about not being able to fit into anything & being pissed & cursing at God for me being where I’m at. All because a zipper got stuck & that meant I couldn’t wear my new dress. 
 
You see, over the last few years hormones have been making me “crazy,” exactly once each month for a 24 hr period. I get this overwhelming feeling that my life blows! I cry during sappy commercials. I start self-shit-talking. “Why didn’t you do this, instead of this! Picked him instead of the good one.” And on goes the inner crazy talk – for exactly 24 hrs. I know it’s my hormones because while my “inner critic,” is having a hay-day with my emotions, my brain is like, “sister – why you listening to that b.s?” It really is like the cartoons with the little devil on one shoulder & Angel on the other. 
 
Is it cosmic payback for turning a snub nose up at all my girlfriends in HS. who had a flare for the dramatic & would throw themselves on the girls bathroom floor, claiming cramps & PMS to get out of 4th period (no pun intended)? Maybe, or perhaps my luck just ran out. But I’d say I had a great run, being a quarter of a century “moody-free.” 
 
Back to my dress. After cursing, crying & an overwhelming feeling of “pissed off’ness,” I finally calmed down enough to remember to rub candle wax on the zipper to make it glide better…and it worked. 
 
It was a wonderful night. Lots of bands, good fun & most of all good people…despite what dress I was wearing. 
 
– Kate 
 
 
 Image
 
 
(freedigitalphotos.net) 
 
 
About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

