Apocalyptic Pretty

Currently I’m watching the new show, “Revolution.” I’d love to tell you it’s because of its awesome story lines & excellent caliber of acting, but mostly it’s narcissistic reasons. Mainly because one of the lead character’s an old buddy of one of my ex-boyfriend’s & I like to torture myself by having a constant reminder that, “you’ll never be more important than his film,” blasted at me for an hour each week…never date a director, especially an “Indy” one.

Anyway, I’m watching the screen & the protagonist, Charlie comes on the screen. All I could think was, “Isn’t it funny how everybody looks so pretty post Apocalyptic?” 

That’s right! ” The Walking Dead, Falling Skies, Jericho, Survivors…” oh and “Lost,” we can’t forget (or at least I can’t) how pretty Ian Somerhalder is. Swoon.

Ok, so “Lost,” may not be post-apocalyptic, but every day amenities are not readily available.  I always think stuff like, “Wow, where do you get your brows waxed or those clam shells sure do a damn good job at shaving his chest!” I even think, “wow, I’d like to loot some of those abandon stores for those outfits they’re wearing.” 

I wonder if we’d tune-in if everyone was skanky every week? All chicks had hairy armpits ala Nena 1983 & the leading man’s teeth were rotten & half missing?

hmmm, I gather probably not. We like realism – kinda –  in our movies (think Mad Max, Thunderdome & all that stinky glory coming through the screen), but not so much on a weekly basis.

Well, if it does go to hell in a hand-basket, I don’t know if I want to make through…I don’t know if I can keep up with the pretty 😉

– Kate

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

