Dude…do you realize you’re driving Barbie’s car?

The first time I was introduced (and road in) a Miata was when they first hit the scene in the early 90’s. I was in Germany visiting my family and as a visiting American (especially at the time) you’re a total dude magnet. I can’t even remember where I met Walter (probably some beer or wine fest) but he quickly asked me out & wanted to take to the nearby big city to have coffee & go shopping (hmmm-first clue).

As he drove up to my Oma & Opa’s house I was a little taken back…”Holy shit – he’s driving Barbie’s car!” He pops out of his car looking like a, “Ralph Lauren,” ad. Khaki’s, crisp white shirt, sweater over shoulders, perfect raven floppy hair. My next thought was… “Hmm – I wounder if Walter knows he’s gay.”

Needless to say we had LOTS of fun. Shopping, driving, laughing & listening to “Corona’s Rhythm of the Night”. Nothing happened w/Walter except a few “hand on knee attempts & one surprise attack kiss that hit my nose awkwardly ” to test the water but I couldn’t deny him his real self and kept it platonic. I’m happy to say, a few years later when visiting again, he introduced me to his boyfriend as the most “Super American,” alive.

So every time I see that car I’m fondly reminded of Walter sporting “Barbie’s Ride,” and one of the best dates I’ve ever had 🙂

– Kate

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

