Thrift Store

I’ve always loved vintage clothing. Long before Mad Men was popular my little sister & I were hitting up local Goodwill’s & Value Villages looking for some “old ladies,” discarded hand-knitted sweater or fur coat.

As I got older, my job positions had me sporting a more tailored look. And because I was in retail & merchandising – I got a lot of free clothing.  But it’s been over 3 years now since I left that world & entered a new profession. One where I’m in an office all day, sitting at a computer.

…and then I got fat. Well – fatter. I’m still within BMI, but just barely. And all those beautiful clothes no longer fit. Coming from a world where I use to get stuff for free or at most – cost, I was damned if I was going to pay full price for anything.

So back I went to the “thrift store.”  Mostly on a hunt for jeans. And what jeans I found. Seems all the “leisure housewives,” in my hood, happen to like to give their $300 jeans to the Goodwill up the street & that particular store never has a clue of the treasure they have because they always seem to be priced around…ohhh – $12.99.

…and where that secret booty lies – I’ll never tell 😉

– Kate

 

Macklamore & Ryan Lewis are currently on on Tour.  You don’t want to miss it! http://macklemore.com/shows

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

