48 Hours…not the movie!

While at my favorite watering hole on Friday night, the owner told me, “Hey, Kate – Macy’s is open for the next 48 hours if you’ve still got some shopping to do.” I quickly whipped out my phone to check their website in disbelief of my ears. Sure as hell, there in digital before my eyes, proof that some executive had lost their mind.

After closing down Karaoke, I decided why the hell not? Basically I just wanted to say I had been someplace that wasn’t a Walmart or 7-11 at 2 am.

As I pulled up to a nearly vacant parking lot, I still couldn’t believe it but alas the doors magically opened.

I walked in to a neatly straightened store & one crazy lady shopper to my right, frantically trying on winter coats searching for that super sale. I wonder what her husband thought when she said, “Honey, I’m hitting the mall,” at what was well past the witching hour.

What would have been a shopaholics dream, was kind of my dilemma. Where do you start? I had most of my Christmas shopping done & anything else I needed was resided at a BevMo or a chocolate shop. I was basically there for the novelty.

Checking out the premises, occasionally passing by half-dazed workers I heard someone say, “Hey, gorgeous – where’ve you been hiding?” Expecting to see some weirdo, I realized it was Liz – someone I worked with about 15 years ago. She was more than ecstatic to have someone to talk to and pass the time, with what was going to be a very very long night/morning.

We caught up on the last decade & I ended up buying earrings & a bracelet. Not because they were extraordinary or anything, but basically because anyone who was working at this hour who wasn’t a truck driver or nurse, deserved a sale.

As I was exiting I passed the only other people I saw that morning.  A drunk couple, who I gather was there for the same reason as I – the novelty. Except they had intoxication as an excuse, I had none other than…

#theremustbesomethingwrongwithme

– Kate

freedigitalphotos.net

freedigitalphotos.net

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

