Heaven looks to me like a Roller Skating Rink

There’s many thoughts of what happens to you when you die. Some think, “I’m dead – I’m buried – I’m in the ground.” End of story. I’d like to think you go back to some of the most happy times in your life.

That for me – would be the local Roller Rink. Many a weekend from the 5th grade on, that’s where you’d find me. I lived for skating. I saved my paper route money so I could by my first pair of skates which came from Sears. More money to replace the wheels – White lightnings.

Then, after much savings & what seemed like a very long layaway plan, my first pair of speed skates. Riedell Boots – Century Plates & Black Labeta Wheels. Never was a girl more proud…or broke! $200 was a lot back in 1980.

Reverse skate, shooting the duck, speed races, couples only – yes, those were glorious time.

Yes, I’d like to think I get to spend a couple of decades there before I move on to what’s next…

…especially if I gotta come back here 😉

– Kate

About somebodyslippedmeamickey

“Somebody Slipped Me A Mickey™…and I woke up middle-aged,” is about a 40-something Gen X’er who woke-up one day & couldn’t find her husband or children (probably because she forgot to have them), where she came from & where the hell she’s going. Her name may or may not be Kate & she may or may not live in the Pacific Northwest. She, for-sure is middle-aged & awesome! View all posts by somebodyslippedmeamickey

Leave a Reply

